When I need strength.

Ever been tired.  Simply exhausted and tired, but you still went ahead and did that thing you were supposed to do anyway!  Clean the house, cook for your husband and kids, go to a work where you receive little compliment for giant efforts.   You do these things not because you feel like it, but because you are supposed to do. Your strength is low, but you still go on ahead.

Strength is something we all want and need, but do not always possess.

I remember in my senior year of college, the dormitory halls got together and held a “Dorm Wars” event. It actually-kinda- felt like a minute-to-win-it games or another reality game show.  But it was quite a war game!  Many dorms bought uniform shirts, made their unique “dorm cheer” and developed strategies to win.  This might as well had been football. 

I remember the evening of Dorm wars, during the obstacle course segment, there were four girls in each team performing a relay.  In my team, I was the last one up.  I had to “anchor” the team, leading them to victory.  On the mark, get set, go!  One… two… and three of my teammates successfully got through their lap.  And Sheila (not the real name) was about to pass the baton to me.  There was a long tube on the ground to crawl through, followed by adjacent tires, some ropes thingamajigs (don’t recall), and then a wall to jump over. 

“This is a piece of cake, I got this, I got this!” I thought. 

“I can outrun any girl on this court.” I went on, “Will take this baby home.” I was so eager and excited to show off my abilities and strength.  Now she came and tagged me, I broke out across that line quickly, dashed into the tube, creeping and creeping as fast as I could.  That was over. Now the adjacent tires were up and in two rows.  I ran through those in a seconds.  But then came the wall.  Immediately I lost focus and my thoughts changed. I began to fret. I looked at that wall and it looked really TALL.  I stunted and halted a little, then I jumped.  While in the air, I was confident I’d make it over, but my back foot caught the wall and I came down in to a painful fall.  I limped the rest of the way to the finish line.

My supportive teammates gave me a lot of you-did-well pats. But I looked back at the wall, it was not tall, literally 4 feet high, but when I was in the game, in the heart of the race, that wall look taller and I doubted my strength to get over it.

As you go through life and face ever-present challenges, know that God is with you1 and HE is the source of your strength. 

Habakkuk 3:19,

The Lord God[c] is my strength;
He will make my feet like deer’s feet,
And He will make me walk on my high hills.

Joshua 1:9

Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

  1. Heb.13:5

Follow My Life with Christ and be blessed with more words of inspiration!

Leave a Reply

