If You Only Knew…

It was another regular afternoon in the town of Samaria.  Nothing special was going on; no major activities that day.  A plain day.

Jesus was sitting by a well to catch himself before continuing his journey to Galilee.

Then a woman from the town of Samaria walked over to the well with her bucket in her hand and began to draw out the water.

When Jesus saw her He asked, “Please give me a drink.” – John 4:7 NLT   

And the woman began to question his request, “How is it that You, being a Jew, ask a drink from me, a Samaritan…?”  

The truth is that Jews did not associate at all with Samaritans.  Kinda how some people are today right! They only interact with people of their own town or ethnic group.  Nothing new.

But Jesus!  Jesus replied, “IF YOU ONLY KNEW the gift God has for you and who you are speaking to…”

– John 4:10

Jesus was saying, If you only knew who you are speaking to and what I plan to do for you shortly.  How I left the portal of heaven with all of its glory and splendor, took on the form of a man to die for the sins of the world.

If you only know my unending love for you. How I beautifully designed you and purposed you with a FUTURE in mind. – Psalms 139:14, Jeremiah 29:11

Jesus words: Those who drink the water I give will never be thirsty again.

Why do we go through life doubting God.  Doubting his incredible love and grace He has so willingly extended.  Jesus is saying come to me just as you are, let go of your worries and burdens. Receive me as your Lord and Savior. I wash away your sins and make you brand new.  This is His promise!  (Romans 10:9, 1 John 1:9)

“Don’t take on the burdens of this life alone.  Give it to me and I will carry it.”  – Jesus

He is saying, drink of this Living Water I provide that leads to life eternal and receive my peace surpasses anything this world has to offer.

IF YOU ONLY KNEW.

Leave a Reply

