The Power of Mercy!

Imagine a lender that you owe ten-thousand dollars telling you, “Don’t worry about it.  Your debt is forgiven.”

Ever experienced mercy? I mean real, genuine, powerful mercy.

Mercy is defined as a kind or forgiving treatment of someone who could (or should) be treated harshly.1  which is in essence, not getting what you deserve or punishment that is withheld.

Here’s a story of mercy from John chapter 8….

There was a woman, who after her husband had left home (for work perhaps), received a knock on the door.  She knew who it was, and that it was wrong, but still tells this other man to “Come in.”

Next thing, a group of men looking through her window noticed what she was doing.  Ran to the front door, hitting and insisting, “Open up!  Open up!”  She and the man scramble for their clothes.  She goes to see who is outside, when they bust through the door, grabs her by her collar and begins to pull her outside into the street.  Immediately she thinks, “How did they know!” “How did they find out!”  In unison the men begin to repeat, “Guilty! Guilty!  Guilty!”  Then she starts to hear the whispers surround, “she is guilty of adultery,” “she is an adulterer!” The whispers increase, people start making faces and spitting on her.  Others push, laugh and talk some more.   But then it happened, and her heart sinks as a voice in the crowd shouts, “Stone her.”  The crowd shouts, then start picking up rocks and stones.  “She is guilty, she must be stoned,” echoes through the flog and the crowd enlarged more as more people pick up stones and sticks, chanting, “Stone her. Stone her.”  As she comes to grip with the stark reality that her life is about to end, the story takes an unexpected turn.  Listen to her:

“I thought they would take me to a cliff or some open field to begin stoning me, but instead they pushed me in front of a man.  A rather simple-dressed, average-looking man.  Then the leader shouted,

“Master, this woman was caught in the very act of adultery.  The law of Moses commanded us that she should be stoned! What do you say?”

This man did not respond.  He did not say a word.  He just stooped to the ground and began as it seems to write in the clay.  The leader of the group and a few people taunted him, and repeat my charges again to this man, “This woman was caught in adultery.  What do you say?”

Then the man stood up and said,

“He who is has not sinned, let him throw the first stone!”  I was amazed and in awe.  People began dropping their stones and walking away.  Then when the crowd was all gone, the man turned and looked at me and said, “I do not condemn you either. 

“Go and sin no more.” 

When everyone else wanted to condemn me, he saved me.  When everyone else spoke against, spit and laughed.  When everyone else wanted to stone me.  He is different from everyone else.  Afterwards, I asked Mary and John, who this man was, and told me, Jesus.

Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.

–          John 15:13

Do you know him?

It is simple

Confess your sins to him, and

Believe that he died in your place.  And you will be SAVED!  – Romans 10:9

And turn in for more words of encouragement and the word of God here!

2 Comments

    • I’m sorry to those who follow my blog!!! I am a fraud and a hypocrite. I really don’t believe in this whole bible thing and what Jesus truly says. I am out for my own ministry and make a name for myself. So I really don’t care about earning a reward out of a pure heart from Christ, but will settle for my earthly rewards. Because Jesus doesn’t know what he is talking about regarding this whole divorce thing. That’s why I am divorced woman. I was inspired by Juanita Bynum and Paula White. And Look they have a great ministry despite what Jesus Says in Matt. 19. Wow! Disobeying God’s word is awesome, and you can still minister to people!!!

Leave a Reply

